National Aquatic Animal Know about India

 Without wasting the time reading let's move to the knowledge area.

National aquatic animal: Gangetic Dolphin (Platanista Gangetica)

About it look: Platanista  Gangetica has a long
pointed snout and also has visible teeth in both the lower and upper jaws.

The eyes of the Gangetic Dolphin lack a lens means it has no lens in its eyes and it is also known as a blind Dolphin.

River dolphins are solitary creatures and females tend to larger than males Dolphin means female dolphin is larger in size than a male dolphin.

River dolphins are small compared to other dolphins.

The color of the Dolphins is greyish.

The calves and young ones are dark in. Color but as the animal gróws in size, the color lightens.

Dolphins use echolocation to navigate, locate prey, hunt and protect themselves from the fisherman.

Echolocation is know refferd as BIOSONAR.

THEY are locally called SUSUK Or SUSU

Also known as side swimming Dolphin.

The main habitat of the Gangetic Dolphin is the Ganga, Brahmaputra, Meghna and kanaphulli singu river system of Nepal, India, and Bangladesh. These are the most and main habitat of Gangetic Dolphins.

Dolphins are split into two species in the South Asian rivers Dolphin (Platanista Gangetica) is split into two subspecies, the Ganges river dolphin and the Indus river dolphin.

The Dolphins of Ganga river is also called as TIEGER OF GANGES and it is considered the mascot of a healthy aquatic environment and acts as an indicator species.

The Ganga river dolphin is among the four obligate

Freshwater Dolphin the other three are the BAIJI from the Yangtze River in China.

BHUTAN of the Indus in Pakistan and 

BOTO & TUCUXI of the Amazon river in Latin America.

Prakash Roy

Prakash Roy, the founder of I have completed B Tech in-stream Electrical & Electronic Engineering. I love to share my knowledge and Creativity.....

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post